Wrap Up

October Wrap UP

monthly wrap up

I have not had so bad reading month since May 2017 (when I did not read a single book) and February 2017 (when I read only two books) as I read only four books and made it a bit over the middle of one more. Ohhh, I had planned to read at least eleven books, including seven for Halloween Read-a-thon, which I totally bummed. One of the books that I read was not even on my October’s TBR list but on November’s. So, I have a confession to make… I am very bad at fallowing TBR lists because I am very much a mood reader. I like to take a book from my shelf that I feel like reading at that moment. But never the less I do enjoy making TBR lists 🙂 So let’s get on to my books of October.

Books read > 4 and a half books

Pages read > 1541 pages (like more than 2000 pages less than last month)

Favourite book of the month > Sacrifice (Elemental, #5) by Brigid Kemmerer

secret1. Secret by Brigid Kemmerer. Forth book in The Elemental series. As I started the series at the end of September then I picked up and continued reading the story of Merrick brothers also in October. Another enjoyable book in this series, action packed, romantic, dangerous, heart-breaking and with the hard road to self-acceptance. Of course as with all of the books in this series family and friendship was big part of this book. This was also the only book where the main romance was between two guys. It was hard for me to fully connect with this romance because obviously I am not a guy but still it offered a sweet, romantic and different experience for me. I enjoyed this book, read it in one day and gave it 4 stars.

sacrifice2. Sacrifice by Brigid Kemmerer. The fifth and last book in The Elemental series. This series got better with each book and this was the best book in the series. There was so much action, feelings and all possible emotions involved. I loved it. Family theme was the very core of this book. The pace of the plot never really slowed down much, there was danger, pain and unexpected events. Each page was full of life, emotions, friendship and love. It was an addictive, fast and entertaining, one day read. I discovered that my favourite Merrick brother is not anymore Chris, the youngest brother, but Michael, the oldest one. Sacrifice is the favourite book I read in October and it received 4 stars from me.

eliza and her monsters3. Eliza and Her Monsters by Francesca Zappia. It was a very emotional read for me. It was a beautiful but somewhat heart-breaking story. It was a cute and adorable story. It was not all lighthearted and … story but filled with some hard and dark moments as well. As it was a meaningful and also fun story. There was fandom, online friendship, comics and fanfiction, which are not the most familiar things for me at the moment but is slowly changing with me joining the book blogging community. I could relate to the main character – Eliza – in some aspects and situations. One more book that I read in one day and gave 4 stars.

stalking Jack the Ripper4. Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco. First book in the series and I chose to read it because I am interested in the second book in this series – Hunting Prince Dracula. So this was the most Halloween themed book that I read in October. At the beginning it was a bit disgusting and too creepy for my taste but it got less disturbing with time, so at the end I kind of partly enjoyed reading it. There was mystery surrounding Jack the Ripper, which I stupidly and very unluckily completely spoiled by accidentally finding out his identity while having read just a few chapters. I was not even a tiny bit surprised by who he was, as this person was actually my first suspect even the author had not hinted towards him during the chapters that I had read. He just felt to be the right person in my mind or I am just too good at reading mind of authors 😀 My favourite part of this book was the interaction between Audrey Rose and Thomas. Oh, I also enjoyed the vibes of Sherlock Holmes that I got. I gave this book 3 stars.

Stalking Jack the Ripper was also the only book that I read for the Halloween Read-a-thon organized by Lauren at Wonderless Reviews. However, I did manage to tick of three of the six book reading challenges. One – it has a creepy cover (costume party challenge), two – it is a horror book (urban legends challenge), and three – I read it only during time after sunset (witching hour challenge). Also I completed the scary movie challenge, as I watched  Supernatural (2005- ) TV series latest episodes of season 13, also enjoyed Pride and Prejudice and Zombies (2016), Hansel & Gretel: Witch Hunters (2013), and Zombieland (2009). Oh, and I also watched my favourite Halloween movies: Hocus Pocus and Halloweentown series.

the coldest girl in coldtown15. The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black. I have read 63% of this book and have been struggling with finishing it. I cannot say that I do not like it because The Coldest Girl in Coldtown is an OK book. But simply the author did not manage to pull me into the story from the beginning, which is not the case in most of the time for me as I am used to usually finish reading a book in one or two days. Maybe the problem is that I found it hard to relate to the main character and somewhat disliked her, the jumping in backstories were disrupting the main story line and I was a tiny bit bored because I felt like the story was moving too slowly and with too little of exciting events in it. I have put this book a bit aside as I have read already three other books after started reading this one and I like to read one book at a time, however, I am planning to finish this book hopefully at some point by the end of this year. This is my new 2017 challenge 🙂

october wap up

Was October a better reading month for you? How many books did you read during October? What kind of books did you read in October? Where they spooky, creepy or scary books and perfect for Halloween? What was your favourite book that you read in October? Or just share your thoughts on this post in comments bellow 😉

Lady Of Bookland Logo

Leave a Reply

