TBR list

October and Halloween Read-A-Thon TBR

halloween tbr

October is the month of spooky and paranormal books for me. It is the time of witches, ghosts, vampires and other supernatural creatures. It is not the time for horror, thriller and really scary, creepy books because those kind of stories are just not my cup of tea. However, I am going to take part in Halloween Read-A-Thon, therefore, I will add a couple of horror books to this month’s reading list. Just hope they will not be too scary as I will be home alone for couple of weeks at the end of October and my imagination can run very wild.

DSC_2162

So, here you go my October TBR:

1. Secret by Brigid Kemmerer (Elemental, #4)

2. Sacrifice by Brigid Kemmerer (Elemental, #5)

I started Elemental series in September and enjoyed them, so I am going to finish the series at the beginning of October.

3. The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black. Eternal party with vampires sounds bloody dangerous and deathly. I have wanted to read Holly Black for a long time, so this is going to be my first but not last book of hers that I read.

Halloween Read-A-Thon TBR

halloween readathon

Halloween Read-A-Thon from Lauren at Wonderless Reviews and there is also a chance to win a spooky book, just visit her site >>> Wonderlessreviews. The read-a-thon is going to run from the 10th October – 31st October. And this will be my first year taking part in it. Now lets look at the challenges 🙂

costume party

something wicked this way comes1. Something wicked this way comes by Ray Bradbury. I love horses. They are beautiful and majestic animals but just look at that creepy looking horse on this cover. I think that the eye makes it really creepy looking. Or if I do not manage to read this book I will go with Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco. The city on the cover looks a bit creepy and some picture in the book are very creepy.

haunted house

the witchs kissI love paranormal romances, so this is definitely my favourite challenge.

2. The witch’s kiss by Katharine & Elizabeth Corr is the first book in a series about a teenage witch. This book is quite essential for Halloween read-a-thon because witches are the most important part of Halloween 🙂

urban legends

stalking Jack the Ripper3. Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco. This is actually the only horror book on my shelf and I got it only because I am interested in the next book of the series > Hunting Prince Dracula. Sadly paperback edition is not available at the moment but hoping to get it soon. I am actually quite reserved about starting this book, it just seems so creepy. Hopefully it will be fast paced and interesting.

witching hour

the night circusThis is easy as I love to read books after midnight and even at 3 to 4 am is a usual reading time for me. Night is my favourite time of day, especially during autumn and winter when it is really dark.

4. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern is perfect for this one. The name says it all as this circus opens only at night 🙂 I have heard that Caraval is similar to this one and I loved Caraval, therefore, I hope this will be the same good.

scary movie

I do not read horror or thriller books but movies are a different case, especially I love zombie movies. Probably I choose to watch one or more of these movies: Hansel & Gretel: Witch Hunters (2013), Zombieland (2009), Pride and Prejudice and Zombies (2016), Crimson Peak (2015), The Fog (2005), The Mist (2007) and/or Alien: Covenant (2017). Also Supernatural TV series will be back with season 13 on 12th of October, so I will have a chance to see 3 episodes during this read-a-thon 🙂

Maybe I will read Coraline by Neil Gaiman and watch the animation movie or watch and read The Witches by Roald Dahl. When I was kid I loved Roald Dahl’s books, including The Witches. It has been long since I read it, so why not to re-read 🙂

trick or treat

the witchs tearsI do not want to be tricked into something too scary, so I am choosing treat and having a free choice of any genre. With this challenge I will continue reading the series I started in Urban Legends challenge, so YA paranormal fantasy it is.

5. The witch’s Tears by Katharine & Elizabeth Corr.

all hallows eve

6. Angelbound by Christina Bauer. I have to read this one for NetGalley. Demons, Purgatory, and demon hunter is right up Halloween alley. I will start the read-a-thon with this book as it sounds very interesting, hopefully I will not get disappointed.

7. The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman seems like a perfect end to this read-a-thon.

If by some miracle I get my university assignments done fast and finish reading all the books from both of this lists then I will start Mediator series by Meg Cabot. As they are promised to be spine-tingling stories. This sounds perfectly spooky, ghostly and just right for Halloween time 🙂

So 10+ books on my October and Halloween Read-a-thon TBR list.

halloween reads photo

Are you taking part in Halloween Read-A-Thon? How many books are on your October/Halloween TBR list? Please comment below 😉

Lady Of Bookland Logo

3 thoughts on “October and Halloween Read-A-Thon TBR”

  1. What a great TBR!!! I really need to read The Night Circus, Stalking Jack the Ripper and The Coldest Girl in Cold Town! I’m hoping to potentially get to Stalking Jack the Ripper for the readathon. Zombieland is such a great movie!! Really happy you’ll be joining in :D!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great TBR! Some of my favorites are on there!! Something Wicked This Way Comes is so atmospheric! And I loved Coraline and the Graveyard Book. I read the first book in the Mediator series, and plan on reading the rest soon, because I really loved that one as well.
    Also, I haven’t seen it yet, but my sister watched Crimson Peak last year, and she really loved it. ☺️👻🎃 Good luck on the readathon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

